Migraines & The Runner

I have long suffered with headaches, ever since I was a child.  In recent years these headaches have developed into excruciating migraines.  I’m sure someone knows the ones, and can relate.  Nothing seems to help, no amount of pills, ice packs, dark rooms, hot baths.  Nothing.  All you can do is sleep it off, and even then sometimes you wake up with still with a hint of it lingering.  However, if I can catch it early enough, and have the time, I can usually keep them at bay.

Which brings me to the running bit.  It’s the only tried and true practice I have found for headaches that actually works.  It’s obvious to anyone who knows even the tiniest bit of human anatomy why it helps.  Increased blood flow to the brain, endorphins, and then release of tension all nip it in the bud before a full blown migraine has time to develop.  I guess the real point of this post is this: Am I missing something?  I know there must be a load of people who suffer from migraines, but how do they get on with their days?  Unfortunately for me, when a migraine hits, I’m usually not in the most convenient of places to just suit up and skip out for a quick run.  Lovely as that life would be!  Some days I don’t even have time to go out for a run when I feel great.  So…

How does everyone else cope with headaches and migraines?

About kayfield

I'm a 22 yr. old university student working towards a bachelor of arts in psychology, my certification to be a personal trainer, and eventually a master's degree. I work full time at a bookshop, and I pick up the odd job cleaning houses and helping people with their fitness goals. A girlfriend and I started a self motivated bootcamp in the spring of 2012 for nothing more than to give each other the support we both needed to get into shape. It started to take shape as an idea when friends started wanting to join in. We have been inviting people for free ever since, and we are working towards having our own bootcamp business up and running by spring of next year. I personally discovered how much I love helping people discover their fitness goals, and working one on one. Whether someone wants to lose or gain weight, improve their nutrition, or run a marathon, essentially I would like to turn something I love doing into a part time career one day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment